Ombre Buttercream Ruffle Cake

I have recently been addicted to the different effects you can achieve on larger celebration cakes with the various piping nozzles I usually use to decorate cupcakes.

When I was asked to create a retirement cake for a lady who was off to lead the life of leisure after 40yrs of service as a quality and curriculum manager it seemed the perfect opportunity to give it a go!  The ruffles are in various shades of teal – each batch of buttercream slightly darker than the last to give the ombre effect.

If you are having a go at this yourself remember to take it slow and steady with the piping bag, use a turntable and have lots and lots of buttercream on hand!!

I think the final effect was quite pretty and I look forward to experimenting more! Claire x

Leave a comment